Ahmedabad: Uttarayan 2009

The detailed comments from some of my dear friends to my previous post “Ahmedabad: Uttarayan Eve 2009” say more than I ever could have. They have described the festival and the associated feelings so well!

What I will do is post some pictures which I took on Uttarayan morning.

Here are a couple of headlines from Times of India, 14th January 2009. “The Patang Party Begins” exults the headline on page 1. The headline on the supplement Ahmedabad Times cautions revelers to “Fly Safe”

The Grand Party Begins!

The Grand Party Begins!

 

 

Fly Safe!

Fly Safe!

 

Thanks to a colleague of mine at Ahmedabad I could get to fly kites. He gamely set the kite up and handed me the ‘controls”. I tried some deft manouvers trying to act like one kite-flying cat. And sure enough, and soon enough, my colleague had to intervene to save my kite from other predator kites.

Bach Gaye!!

Bach Gaye!!

 

 

 One great advantage of visiting my colleague was that he stays in a high-rise building and I could have a great view of the neighborhood from the terrace on the 11th floor. Terraces after terrace were filled with people, some flying kites, while most enjoying the action. Here are a few pics:

The Kite Flyer

The Kite Flyer

 

 

Terraces....

Terraces....

 

....Even more terraces...

....Even more terraces...

...Lots more Terraces

...Lots more Terraces

And here is a resting place for these objects of joy.

Resting place

Resting place

Ahmedabad! I will be back for Uttarayan next year. For a longer stay. And with my family!

2 Responses to Ahmedabad: Uttarayan 2009

  1. Pramod Varandani says:

    It was also memorable event for me and Chirag as you and Mr Sridhar came to visit my terrace which was the best place to see whole ahmedabad on kite flying day, i still remember Mr Sridhar told me i dont understand how could you people manage to keep Kite in the air, and i replied him that it is the practice of 20 years since from the childhood every gujarati child knows how to fly the kite. And as you rightly said it is truly enjoyable festival for Gujarat peoples.

    • santoshojha says:

      Thank you Pramod. It was a pleasure learning kite-flying from you! I hope I am able to make a longer trip to Ahmedabad during Uttarayan in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

